outfit of the day: wedding dress (not mine!)

2 layer cutaway dressThis is the dress I bought for my sister’s wedding last October. I usually stay away from empire waists, as I carry a lot of my fat in my belly and they tend to look like maternity wear on me. But the preggo effect isn’t as bad with this particular dress. I suspect it might be a skosh overfancy for work, but I really like this dress and would hate to see it moldering in a closet. Anyway, no one’s ever complained. “Young lady, you look far too nice today.”

I blogged yesterday’s outfit in Fatshionista, and got a lot of people commenting “Eww, knee socks!”. That’s both helpful AND constructive! Seriously, I’m not asking YOU to wear them. I see a lot of things in that community I would never wear, but I’m not a narcissistic asshole who thinks everything is All About Me, so I keep it to myself.

Now I’m remembering why I frequently quit that community (then re-join months later when I’ve forgotten why I quit).

Anyway, as you can see I took the prevailing opinion very much to heart. By which I mean: I totally ignored it. YOU CAN HAVE MY KNEE SOCKS WHEN YOU PRY THEM FROM MY COLD, DEAD LEGS. Those are eyelets BTW, not a woven pattern.

gold flats and black eyelet knee highs

I see my feet got cut off, so here they are. Between the metallic shoes, and my headband (which is glittery), I didn’t feel the need for jewelry.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 02:56:34

    It’s a pretty dress and I like the socks.

  2. Dana
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 15:52:28

    I love looking at the pictures of OOTD there, but sweet mary and joseph some people take themselves FAR too seriously. Just hush and say I look cute…or pipe down!

  3. Dana
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 15:52:47

    Oh PS!

    I lloooooove this dress!

Leave a Reply

