l’oreal HIP powder kohl

loreal hip powder kohlI’ve been looking for a good eyeliner forever. For years my favorite was L’Oreals’s Le Grand Kohl pencil, which was as long as my arm and came in a dazzling array of colors. But then they shortened it (while increasing the price); then pared it down to only 3 or 4 colors; and finally they changed the formula. It went from a soft pencil that you could smudge or leave sharp and that stayed on for hours, to a hard waxy crayon that pulled at your eyelid while hardly going on at all. I even tried softening it in a lighter flame for a second: all that did was make the tip break off.

The L’Oreal HIP (High Intensity Pigment) crayon is a pretty good substitute — in fact, I would bet that it’s the old Le Grand Kohl formula — but it only comes in a couple of colors. Last weekend I was looking at eyeshadows (I’ve recently come out of a boring neutral phase, which has required buying lots of new make-up) when I discovered the HIP Powder Kohl. I was skeptical about a powder’s staying power; but I’ve loved everything else I’ve tried in the HIP line, so I bought one and thought if it was a good product I’d get some more.

It is awesome. It goes on sharp as liquid liner, but smudges up great if that’s the look you’re going for. It stays on all day, even along the waterline! There isn’t a huge range of colors though; I have burgundy, gold, brown, and black. I wish they made purple and green. There’s also navy and teal, but I probably won’t get those. (It’s weird that they have teal, but not green.)

One drawback: It’s kind of messy. The product tends to fall off the applicator and onto your cheeks — not to mention your chest, so get dressed after you do your make-up. I take care of that by blowing most of it off, then getting the rest off with a swipe of loose powder. (And then shaking out my bathrobe.)

Of course, now that I’ve found an eyeliner I really like, they’ll probably discontinue it, which always seems to happen. Except for Maybelline Great Lash Mascara, which I’m pretty sure was used by cavewomen, it’s been around so long.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christy
    Jun 25, 2009 @ 13:38:30

    You might want to check out Trish McEvoy’s Finish Line. You take a bit of powdered shadow and a drop of Finish Line and combine them together and tada! Liner in whatever shade you want. I’m just thinking that might solve your purple/green issue.

    http://www.trishmcevoy.com/Makeup/8+ml++027+fl+oz/95240/lister.htm

  2. Dana
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 16:23:03

    I use the bare escentuals shadows and liners. I use a really stiff liner brush that gives me smudgy lines dry and sharp lines wet. There are about a billion colors.

Leave a Reply

