shorter USA today*

You might as well smoke crack through your rectum!

You might as well smoke crack through your rectum!

Women who enjoy a glass of wine with dinner several months after giving birth are drug addicts.

Seriously, what the fuck is up with the total black-and-white viewpoint of this article?

Delany says the study highlights the importance of getting the message out to women to not resume substance use after pregnancy. “It’s just something we need to work better on as a nation,” he says. “Women just aren’t stopping the way we would hope.”

Substance use. Not abuse. Basically: squeezing one out means you’re a dirty, filthy hoor who deserves to have her child/ren placed in foster care if you have the occasional gin & tonic or vodka martini after a particularly boogery day at work. This is right up there with the “treat all females currently menstruating as ‘pre-pregnant'” flap in Medical Advice That Makes Me Want To Burn Out My Ovaries With A Soldering Iron.

How totally not surprising at all that there’s a conspicuous lack of handwringing over fathers drinking or smoking.

*”Shorter” concept stolen from Sadly, No!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie
    Jun 24, 2009 @ 02:40:55

    These articles are written by people who apparently have never set foot outside of the US. To me it’s just another example of the arrogance of Americans..apparently we invented childbirth so we have to perfect it. I am pretty sure my mom smoked and drank right through ALL of her pregnancies and everyone turned out OK.

  2. pinstripebindi
    Jun 24, 2009 @ 09:10:18

    My mother gave up smoking during all her pregnancies, for which I am grateful. However, she enjoyed an occasional glass of wine or cup of coffee, and no one was born with flippers or anything.

    But I don’t think encouraging pregnant women to quit smoking and drinking during pregnancy is necessarily a bad thing. What gets up my butt about this article is the pearl-clutching over women who’ve already given birth going back to drinking. Obviously no one should be passing out in a pool of their own vomit every night; but other than one early mention of binge-drinking stats, this article conflates use with abuse. You can’t even call this attitude “Puritanical”, because PURITANS HAD NO PROBLEM WITH ALCOHOL IN MODERATION.

  3. Jennifer K
    Jun 24, 2009 @ 11:41:21

    While growing up, my mom would fix her and my dad a cocktail after he got home from work. They also drank wine with dinner. And no, my mother was never an alchoholic. And get this. My parents would let my sister and I drink a small smidge of wine with Easter and Thanksgiving dinner before we became legal (we were teen-agers). I’m surprised my sister and I are still alive.

  4. pinstripebindi
    Jun 24, 2009 @ 11:55:22

    I was allowed to have wine on my 16th birthday. Clutch the pearls! Thank the merciful lord I am not a raging lush today! *eyeroll*

Leave a Reply

