andromeda klein

andromeda kleinFrank Portman has a new book coming out at the end of summer! I just finished re-reading King Dork for the 3rd or 4th time (I needed something light after reading The Aeneid and re-reading The Golden Bough). I idly checked under his name at Amazon, not really imagining there would actually be anything new there, so imagine my delight!

This one is also a YA book, but I’m confident I will enjoy it as much as his first book. Tom Henderson, after all, was a Generation Xer through and through, simply disguised as a modern teen. Generation Y and the Millenials don’t have the deep, abiding scorn that Henderson diplays for the Baby Boomers. Like Dag says in Generation X: “I have to endure pinheads like you rusting above me for the rest of my life, always grabbing the best piece of cake first and then putting a barbed wire fence around the rest”. You will never find that bitterness in the younger generations; the Boomers are the ones that first taught them that they practically crap gold and deserve an A just for showing up.

In fact, you could even argue that the book is set in the ’80s or early ’90s: I don’t think Portman ever mentions cell phones or the internet or anything that would positively place it within my post-high school era. When Tom and Sam Hellerman want to research Tom’s father’s death, they don’t Google; they go to the library and look up old newspapers. I wonder if that was on purpose?

ETA: Oops, not true: Mr. Teone’s ’93 Geo Prizm! Still, I do wonder if the lack of technological signifiers was something Portman did on purpose.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. F. Portman
    May 14, 2009 @ 19:40:31

    Hey Sarah — yeah it was on purpose. Considering how irritated some people were by that aspect of the book, I’ve sometimes wondered whether I should regret it, though.

  2. pinstripebindi
    May 15, 2009 @ 08:57:46

    OH MY GOD FRANK PORTMAN COMMENTED ON MY BLOG. Unless this is phony, in which case I’m going to be very disgruntled.

  3. F. Portman
    May 15, 2009 @ 10:45:06

    Well, thanks for posting about my books and stuff.

Leave a Reply

