stitching and lomo FAIL

geisha-parasol-wip-7

Geez, this is taking forever. You think you should be almost done when her face is done, but that’s actually just half the design. It goes on for like another 7 or 8 rows of parasol and sky. And there’s still all the back-stitching to do.

So I got my instant Diana back on Thursday, but since I never bought a flash for my F+, I had to wait until morning to try it out. It was a little like waiting for Christmas morning… if all the presents turned out to be empty boxes, because all the photos came out solid black. *sad trombone*

I followed the directions properly — they were really simple — and I’m familiar with the film, from owning a Fuji Instax. And the film I’ve shot with the F+ has never come out black before. It must be flawed and leaking light from somewhere, solid black tells me the film is getting exposed somehow. And it turns out one of my Plurk buddies had the same problem with hers. She doesn’t have much experience with non-digital cameras and just assumed she did something wrong; but I do and I know I didn’t, so it must be a common design flaw.

I’ve heard mostly good things about Lomo’s customer service, so I’m hoping they’ll exchange it without being dicks about it. It’s still a huge letdown and pain in the ass, though. I sent them an email on Friday and haven’t heard back yet, I’ll give them until the end of business today, and then they’re going to be getting a pissed off phone call.

ETA: Commenter Reese points out that exposed film would be white, not black, so I wonder if it’s because the shutter isn’t opening? I’m going to re-attach the back but look at it with the film drawer open and see if I can’t figure it out, before I go through the hassle of a return. (Lomo hasn’t answered my email yet anyway.) It’s possible it’s something I might be able to fix myself.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Reese
    Apr 13, 2009 @ 12:49:20

    If the photos come out black, doesn’t that mean that it’s not exposing the film at all? If they came out white, that would be due to light leaking in. Hmm… I wonder what’s up with that though!

  2. pinstripebindi
    Apr 13, 2009 @ 13:01:35

    Oh yeeeah, you’re right! Maybe the shutter isn’t opening? I’ll take a look at it after work and see if I can figure out what’s going on. I know it’s not the Diana, because on Saturday I took off the back and made sure it was working before I loaded a roll of 120 in it.

Leave a Reply

