bento #74: baby spring rolls

bento-74

I hate deep-frying. I always manage to give myself at least one hot oil burn; I’m always plagued by fears of the oil bursting into flame, even though I use a thermometer and make sure it never goes above 350 degrees. But how could I resist the baby spring rolls I found while lurking in the freezer cases at 99 Ranch? Talk about made for bento.

  • Baby shrimp & veggie spring rolls with sweet chili sauce.
  • Onigiri (flavored with mirin).
  • Edamame.
  • Baby carrots.
  • Apple half.
  • Chocolate mushroom cookies.
  • Strawberry chocolates.

I have been having wacky chocolate cravings lately. And no, it’s not that. I just had it last week; anyway I usually crave salt when I’m on my period. I think maybe it’s just knowing it’s around, because it’s almost Easter.

The onigiri and edamame were both freezer stash and still frozen when I packed the lunch, but defrosted by lunchtime.

Leave a Reply

