they’re dangling over a telephone wire in heaven now!

dangling-pair-of-shoes

Ever since I moved into the farmhouse (almost exactly a year ago), there’s been a pair of shoes dangling over a telephone wire down the street. In front of St. James, the small Catholic church at the corner of Ferry (our street) and Fremont Blvd. I always looked for them when I passed underneath them, and they always cheered me up a little.

Monday morning, they weren’t there. I stopped what should have been underneath them and looked up and down the wires, turning stupidly in a circle.

Then I looked down, and saw a single, beat-up old sneaker lying in the dusty ivy that grows between the sidewalk and the street. Seeing it there was as sad as seeing the body of a dog or cat that had been hit by a car. It was gone when I walked by again on my way home.

Farewell, shoes! I admired your insouciance and you always brought a smile to my face. I’m glad I took photos to remember you by. (Although I don’t seem to have ever taken digital photos, but you can see the Instax I took of them, on the right, second from the top. I also took some with my Diana.)

I even wrote haiku about them, more than one.

Summer evening: A
pair of shoes dangles over
a telephone wire.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. cha0tic
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 13:40:08

    I had heard that shoes over telephone wires was the sign of a drug dealer. I’m not sure if it’s true or just an urban legend.

    Urban legend. It doesn’t “mean” anything other than that some kids were bored and had a disposable pair of old shoes. And while I’m no friend of the RC church and have accused them of plenty of morally shady behavior, I’m fairly confident they aren’t slinging dope from the pews.

Leave a Reply

