rutherford beach, louisiana

On the last day of the year I went to Rutherford Beach in Cameron Parish with my mother and oldest brother. As someone who grew up by the Pacific, I’m pretty underwhelmed by the flat brown Gulf. But we saw a porpoise! It started to come reeeally close to shore, so some guy jumped into what had to have been freezing water to shoo it away.

day-at-rutherford-beach

I like the composition in this shot, the way the scene is broken into thirds. Rule of thirds! I learned that on literally my first day in photo class. Ms. Roman would be proud.

pawprint-detail

cajun-highrises

These are jokingly known as “Cajun highrises”. Anyone whose house didn’t totally wash out to sea in Hurricane Rita raised them so high that you can park your car underneath them. I took this from the car window on the way back.

Here is the whole set.

Leave a Reply

