the cathedral of st. john the evangelist & cemetery

One of the things I did this trip that I never have before is to go see the Cathedral of St. John the Evangelist in Lafayette. We could only see the outside, because it was closed to the public (except for masses) during the week between Christmas and New Year’s, but it was still worth the trip — which is only about a 20-minute drive from Abbeville. And the attached cemetery, which dates from 1820, was open, so you know I was in heaven, because I LOVE photographing old cemeteries.

The style is Dutch Romanesque. Romanesque was the style before Gothic, and you don’t see a lot of (relatively) modern churches built in it. Gothic is much flashier, with the flying buttresses and huge windows and stained glass. But I think Romanesque has its own quiet beauty. “Dutch” I assume refers to the façade, which I found very charming.

angel-with-flowers-and-cathedral

This is one of my favorite photos that I took during the whole trip. I also have a version of it with the lomo effect that looks awesome.

cathedral-of-st-john-the-evangelist-front-side-perspective

It was a very tall building. It was sort of dizzying to look up at it.

alpha-and-omega

I thought this was interesting: On the front of the façade are the Greek characters for alpha amd omega. Revelation 1:8, “I am Alpha and Omega, the first and the last.”

cemetery-gates-cathedral

It’s like a Smiths song!

cemetery-and-back-of-cathedral

flaming-heart-orton

Here is the rest of the set.

Leave a Reply

