the rosary house in new iberia, louisiana

I always try to go here once every visit. New Iberia is only about 15 minutes down the highway from Abbeville. I don’t even remember why I went there the first time, but I love all this Catholic junk. I usually get a rosary (this time I picked up one with red heart-shaped beads: AWESOME) and some prayer cards.

I probably could find a store like this in the East Bay if I looked hard enough, but it wouldn’t be the same.

rosary-house-lomo

It’s creepy/sad how Mary’s fingers are broken off.

virgin-of-guadalupe-pop91

jessu-statue-pop9

rosary-house-1

rosary-house-2

rosary-house-3

catholic-statues

Sadly, they did not appear to stock Buddy Christ.

cabinet-of-rosaries

There are rosaries all over the store (and parts of rosaries, for people who like to make their own — yes, this is a perfectly respectable crafting hobby in southern Louisiana); but the bulk of them are stored in this ginormous filing cabinet. Does this strike anyone else as odd? It always does me.

Leave a Reply

