let the photo entries begin!

Okay, let’s get the boring ones out of the way first. These are just some photos I took around the house and town.

BTW, although you won’t see any photos of my family members here, it’s not that I didn’t take any. It’s just that I took them all with the Instax, which takes excellent candids. I got some great ones, but since the only scanner I have access to isn’t color, I’ve no real good way to share them.

through-the-front-door

rainy-oak

The reason why totally insane fireworks are still legal in most of southern Louisiana is because it does this for part of almost every day. Even if a bottle rocket landed on someone’s roof or a pile of dead leaves, it’s too wet for anything to catch fire.

This tree is on the ‘rents front lawn.

house-being-moved

This is a commonplace sight in southwestern Louisiana, if the house is somewhat old. Slab foundations didn’t become common until the 1980s (and after Rita, they’re going to become less common), and moving a house off a raised foundation is a relatively easy task.

This one looks like it got damaged in one hurricane or another.

cajun-snow-1

See all the black flecks in the sky? That’s “Cajun snow”: soot from the burning sugar cane fields. After they cut it, they burn out all the stubble.

cajun-snow-21

All the black flecks on the driveway: More cane ash. They always burn it in December. Sometimes when I’m there in Christmas, if I blow my nose, it comes out black. Appetizing! It actually smells rather good, though.

Leave a Reply

