stitching, extremely lazy weekends, and yet another camera

joseph and the coat of many colors wip 2

This is almost done, just need to fill in the vine detail in the lower right-hand corner.

I did nothing with my weekend. I didn’t even leave the house. I’m still congested and coughing and exhausted; if there was anything particularly pressing that needed to be done I would have dragged my corpse up out of the house and done it, but there wasn’t, so except for my usual cleaning and cooking, I stayed in bed — or at most, sitting on the floor next to my bed.

Yesterday was my birthday, so fuck it, I guess I was entitled to do nothing if that’s what I wanted. I bought myself another camera. I KNOW, I said I wasn’t going to buy any more cameras until after Christmas. But then Mom told me that we aren’t doing presents this year. They have to save money because they’re probably going to have to buy another house before they get the buy-out money from FEMA for their old one; Rian’s sublet is up and he had to move again; Uncle Larry just quite his job (he was a drug counselor and just burned out, they all do eventually); blah blah blah. Shit, I’ll have to buy season 2 of Dexter myself.

supersampler1So anyway, new camera. I bought a SuperSampler, which I am totally excited about. It has 4 lenses on the front, and it takes 4 different exposures over a period of either (it has 2 settings) 2 seconds or .02 seconds and puts all 4 exposures side-by-side on the same negative. It’s meant to take photos of moving objects; or you can take photos of stationary objects and move the camera yourself. There’s no flash, because you can’t light 4 different shots with one flash of light, so it’s best for bright daylight or well-lit interiors with really high-speed film. And there isn’t any focus, because you couldn’t keep adjusting for a moving object, so it’s got a fixed focus of .03 meters – ∞.

lomo_ss_streetcar_lensflare

I hope I get it this week, I can’t wait to play with it. It shoots 35mm film, so it won’t be as big a pain to get developed and printed as my Diana — although I’ve found a mail-order color lab that I think I’m going to use from now on instead of Ritz. It’s cheaper and more convenient, and they’ll scan my photos so I can share them online.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 228 other followers

