who knows more about electricity than the amish?

I woke up with a sore throat yesterday and it kept getting steadily worse. Last night it actually woke me up, it felt like someone sprayed napalm down the back of my throat. I probably should have stayed home today, but it does feel like it’s abating somewhat, and I feel too guilty to stay home over a sore throat and some sniffles. I like to save my sick days for when I’m really sick, that way I don’t have to care about the extra work that everyone has to do when I’m gone. I have one of those positions that most people poo-poo as not that essential; until I’m not here and they all wind up running around in a panic with their hair on fire.

Anyway, so I was awake from about 12:30 to 2:15, prime informercial time. And I caught a commercial for some typically “who the hell needs this?” product, The Amish-crafted Heat Surge Roll-N-Glow Electric Fireplac! Umm, it’s a space heater that’s plays video of a fake fire. Basically if you sat real close to your television while the Yule Log was on it, you’d get the same result. And the commercial was hilarious, it kept showing entire families of all 3 generations clustered around this thing with a look of amazement as if it were the 8th wonder of the world. And they kept harping on how it was AMISH-CRAFTED. Seriously, you could play a drinking game with this informercial: Every time someone says AMISH, do a shot!

You see what’s weird about this, right? It’s an ELECTRIC HEATER. Built by people WHO DON’T USE ELECTRICITY.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ed
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 07:45:05

    Umm…Yeah. You are a idiot. Before you blog about something, I suggest you learn the facts about it. You did not make one acurate statement about this product.

    Aww look, I’ve attracted the attention of the local Roll N’ Glow retailer! I notice you can’t tell me what I’ve written that is incorrect. See if any of this statement is inaccurate: This product is the dumbest peice of shit ever made and will wind up moldering in a landfill for centuries after about 18 months of use. Also: You’re an asshole. S.

Leave a Reply

