stitching, cheesy garlic biscuits, and monster flicks

joseph-and-the-coat-wip-1

Why did Joseph need that coat in the desert, anyway? That’s like women wearing fur coats in Las Vegas. Show-off.

I didn’t venture very far from home this weekend, even though I should have gone to Ritz and seen about getting my Diana negatives put on disc. It looked like rain, and I didn’t feel like getting soaked again. In fact as I was coming home from running errands it started to sprinkle.

I made these cheesy garlic biscuits, I got the recipe from a Plurk buddy. Supposedly they’re like those biscuits from Red Lobster that everyone loves, but I’ve eaten there exactly once in my life, and that was like 20 years ago, so I can’t vouch for that. They ARE really good, though. Totes easy:

  • Mix 2 cups Bisquick, 1 1/2 cups grated cheddar cheese, and 1/2 tsp. garlic powder. Stir in 2/3 cup milk. Drop by full tablespoons onto greased cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.
  • While they’re baking, melt 2 tbsp. butter together with 2 tsp. oregano and 1 tsp. garlic salt. Brush tops of biscuits, then bake for another 5 minutes or until golden brown on top.

I couldn’t sleep last night, but I don’t think it was insomnia. I just wasn’t tired. I’ve actually been sleeping better lately, ironically since I stopped taking melatonin. I ran out and was too lazy to get more (since we set the clocks back I wasn’t eager to bike to the store in the dark). Last weekend I actually slept 12! hours on Friday night/Saturday morning. I haven’t done that in more than a year.

I wonder if my body is producing more melatonin in the absence of exogenous melatonin? Phil once told me this story about these Buddhist monks who ate a vegan diet, barely enough to stay alive, and they had crazy-high cholesterol, because their bodies overcompensated for the total lack of it in their diet. I think he read about it in a medical journal.

Anyway, so last night was the first time in a couple of weeks that I haven’t gotten a great night’s sleep. I stayed up watching that Korean monster movie, The Host. The monster flick is a sadly uderused genre nowadays. And most of the ones that are made suck, like that execrable Godzilla movie with Ferris Bueller and some chick no one’s seen since.

I detected some anti-American sentiment. Whatever, South Korea. Everyone else hates us, pile it on. The only reason we have a military presence in your country is because you asked for our help to defeat the commies. …of course, that was like 50 years ago. I guess the American military does tend to overstay its welcome.

The origin story was pretty dumb — Formeldahyde? Really?? — but really, who cares. Just bring on the giant, mutated, man-eating, fish-amphibian thing. That’s what I liked about Cloverfield: They didn’t even bother with an explanation. It just crawled out of the ocean and started fucking shit UP. I mean, there was all that online crap about Slurmo or whatever the hell it was called, but they didn’t bother wasting any screen time with it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 20:43:28

    I love your Cross Stitch Samplers! Where did you find the bible samplers and the acorn band sampler?

    MacMacMoo (at) gmail.com

  2. pinstripebindi
    Nov 17, 2008 @ 10:22:26

    The acorn band sampler was an exercise in Donna Kooler’s Encyclopedia of Needlework. I think the Bible samplers are a Leisure Arts booklet. You should be able to find either in any decently-stocked craft store, or online.

Leave a Reply

