you can have my café au lait when you pry it from my sweaty, jittery hands

Coffee growers warn: We’re approaching “peak coffee”. Oh, shit.

I’ve never really considered myself to be one of those GOTTA HAVE IT coffee drinkers. I never have more than one mug/thermos per morning. And it isn’t particularly strong, being a) adulterated with chicory, and b) made café au lait style, meaning half of it is hot milk. During the week, I don’t drink it until I get to work; meaning I shower, ride my bicycle to the bus stop, lift my bicycle onto the bus rack, and do a dozen other tasks that require both mental and physical agility before I have my coffee. And I almost never drink it after that. If I want a hot beverage in the afternoon or evening, I’ll almost always have tea or cocoa instead.

Still, the fact is that I drink it every day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year, and that adds up to a lot of coffee; even though I can comfort myself that it’s partially chicory and that I make it myself with a French press, meaning no discarded paper cups or bleached paper coffee filters.

I guess I’ll just have to gird myself for higher prices, and tell myself that the fact that I no longer drive means I don’t have to feel guilty. I should look into fair trade coffee, but being as how I like it with chicory, I’m not sure it’s an option. And I’m sure as shit not going to give it up. Much as how the French feel about cheese, I feel that life without coffee is not a life worth living.

Leave a Reply

