reality is in the tank for obama

Try not to get disttracted by shiny things.

Rule #1 in a debate: Try not to get distracted by shiny things.

There’s been so much Palin-related hilarity this week that I haven’t even been able to blog about it. I mean, every time I sit down at the keyboard, she says something even dumber than what I was about to mock.

The veep debates are tonight, and you better believe I’m looking forward to them. The campaign has been prepping her all week at McCain’s Sedona ranch, and the reports are… not good. So the GOP has launched an expectation-lowering campaign that will allow them to spin it as a win so long as Palin doesn’t literally shit her pants at the podium.

And if she does shit her pants, hey, it’s all because Gwen Ifill is in the tank for Obama. It’s disengenuous, to say the least, of the GOP to act like they just now found out about Ifill’s book about race and politics, and that it was some big secret. It was announced last June — in the conservative Washington Times. Apparently conservatives don’t know how to use “the Google”?

Sarah Palin’s voice makes me want to kill myself, but I’ll probably force myself to watch if only to count how many times she blurts out a nugget of vaguely folksy-sounding nonsense. Debate drinking game! Every time she uses her signature bizarre, tortured syntax: Chug! Here’s a typical example, when Katie Couric asked her what publications she reads, and Palin couldn’t name a single one:

Um, all of them, any of them that have been in front of me over all these years… I have a vast variety of sources where we get our news.

WHO TALKS LIKE THAT? WHO??

Leave a Reply

