mon journal

I don’t do as much personal blogging as I used to. This is probably because in the past year I’ve been making an effort to get back into paper journaling, which all but died off when I started blogging in 2002. It’s only in the last few months that I’ve felt I’m really up to the quality and content that I was in my journaling heyday, when I was in my late teens/early 20s.

For a while I was buying really nice (and somewhat costly) journals from bookstores; but I’ve been filling them up so fast that I’ve started buying school notebooks from Daiso for $1.50. (Yes, this is a Japanese school notebook, I suppose for kids studying French.)

You’d think I didn’t have anything to write about, since I never do anything. But I have a rich inner life — it’s not possible to say that without coming off as a douchebag, sorry.

In addition to my inner ramblings, I also write down:

  • Any dreams I remember, or at least the ones that actually seem to be about something.
  • Details of everything I cook, including bentos.
  • I’m also re-creating the lists (Rare things, Melancholy things, etc.) of Sei Shonagon‘s Pillow Book.

Blogging about journaling. I am so self-centered.

Leave a Reply

