butterfly embroidery pillowcase and variegated floss sampler work-in-progress: 1

I’ve been working on this pillowcase for my grandmother for months–I gave her the first one for Christmas. Satin stitching is my most-hated stitch (every stitcher has one), and after working on these pillowcases and another pair for my brother (which appears to have gotten lost in the mail >_<), I don’t want to do any more fucking satin stitch for quite a while.

Detail:

So after that, it was a relief to finally start a cross stitch project. I started this yesterday. It’s a sampler done entirely with variegated floss, so the colors darken and lighten and darken again as you stitch. The flash washed it out, but the cloth is actually quite a bit darker than it appears. I thought that would contrast nicely with the bright colors.

My next project was supposed to be a wedding sampler for my sister and her fiancé, but I can’t get the software to work on my computer. However, I got it installed on my mother’s computer last Christmas, when I bought it, so maybe it will be a Christmas present instead.

I also bought an embroidery book at Borders this weekend — actually I ordered it almost a month ago, and kept forgetting to pick it up: Kyuuto! Japanese Crafts: Wooly Embroidery. There are some really adorable designs in there and I can’t wait to try some, but it will probably have to wait until fall. Wooly embroidery is really not something that’s very enjoyable in hot weather.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mj
    Sep 02, 2009 @ 13:50:47

    Where did you get the pattern fot the Variegated Floss Sampler? Is it still in print?

  2. pinstripebindi
    Sep 02, 2009 @ 14:14:51

    I doubt it, it’s from a really old magazine that my mother’s cousin found when she was cleaning out her house after a hurricane.

  3. mj
    Sep 02, 2009 @ 14:22:24

    Would you be interested in selling it?

  4. pinstripebindi
    Sep 02, 2009 @ 14:43:16

    I don’t have it any more.

  5. limijas
    May 18, 2010 @ 08:42:36

    to MJ – Just saw this in a lot on ebay; http://cgi.ebay.com/Garden-SAMPLERS-4-Counted-CROSS-STITCH-Charts-NEW-/360069149724?cmd=ViewItem&pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item53d5cb341c#ht_2048wt_911
    Hope you can cut and past the link and it will work for you.

  6. pinstripebindi
    May 18, 2010 @ 10:11:52

    I doubt mj is still checking this entry for replies a year and a half after leaving her comment, but I’ll approve yours on the off chance.

  7. mj
    May 20, 2010 @ 07:17:57

    Thanks for thinking of me, but I have a copy of this pattern now…

Leave a Reply

