LA Highway 82

(Just digital shots, but I’m sending 2 rolls of medium format out today.)

Whenever I go somewhere to take photos, I always travel east. So on Saturday I threw my Diana and a couple of rolls of film in the car, and got on Highway 82, which runs west from Abbeville through Vermilion and Cameron Parishes. Like most rural “highways” in the south, it’s a rutted 2-lane road with crawfish ponds and cows on either side. Turns out, it’s a goldmine of abandoned houses, barns, fishing and hunting camps, and even vehicles. Cameron Parish, especially, was devastated by Rita and Ike. There were whole communities that were essentially just destroyed. It’s a very rural parish; it’s the largest in land but the lowest in population density. The whole thing has less than 7,000 people, just over half the population of Abbeville. I pulled over whenever I saw something I wanted to photograph, and just kept traveling west until I ran out of film. I got as far as Grand Chenier. (I might have gotten farther, but one of the rolls was Lomography, and apparently their 120 rolls are only 10 exposures, instead of the standard 12? SUPER LAME.)


PICT0424, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

This was a great area, on the other side of the road there were several abandoned barn-type buildings.


PICT0422, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

If I’d blinked I would have missed this almost buried house. A few more years and you won’t be able to see it from the road at all.


PICT0418, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

Seeing this made me briefly ponder what, exactly, is wrong with me that I would squeal with excitement upon seeing it. FUCKING COOL, A WRECKED SCHOOL BUS!


PICT0415, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

I’m not into Photochop, but I may play with this photo later. Give it some effects.


PICT0429, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

Neat.

I think my next project is going to be locating Chenier au Tigre. My grandmother used to go there as a kid, and some of her cousins (and at least one of her sisters-in-law) were from there. But no one really seems to know where it is nowadays. A chenier is a high ridge with oak trees growing on it, but it sounds as if Chenier au Tigre was actually an island. I don’t even know which parish it’s in; Granny said it was near Henry, which would place it in Vermilion. But most of the cheniers are in Cameron, and Cameron was actually formed from pieces of Vermilion and Calcasieu Parishes. So it could be in either one.

Like me on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 263 other followers

