The Holga 135BC appears to be fixed (sort of)

This is the camera that kept giving me unintentional double exposures when I took it to St. Francisville. I had a roll of Kodak Ektar in it, I used about half of it on that trip and finished it up around here. The film counter isn’t working, I kept shooting and shooting and it only got up to about 12. I thought I had shot more than 36 exposures and since I didn’t get to the end of the roll I figured it was fucked up, but I took it into Walgreen’s anyway. I might not have bothered if it had been any other type of film, but Ektar is one of my favorite color negative films, and I don’t know if it’s going to be made much longer. (Hopefully whoever winds up buying Kodak’s films after the bankruptcy will continue producing it, but no one knows for sure what’s going to happen.)

I got them back earlier this week and was pleasantly surprised: no double exposures, and 37 negatives, which means I must have been at the end when I gave up. (Film rolls are always a little longer than what the label says, so when you shoot with film keep shooting until you can’t advance the film any more.) Maybe the camera just needed to be used to fix what was wrong with it. The counter is shot, but that’s not an essential piece of the camera.


686434-R1-30-4A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

686434-R1-28-6A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

686434-R1-36-37, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

686434-R1-12-22A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

686434-R1-08-26A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

686434-R1-00-34A, originally uploaded by pinstripe_bindi.

Like me on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 252 other followers

