make-up review: cover girl outlast lip stain

A cardinal rule of make-up — maybe the only cardinal rule — is that you emphasize lips or eyes, but never both. I prefer eyes, so for years my default lip gloss was Revlon Super Lustrous Lip Gloss in Cherries in the Glow. It was a nice neutral light red that wasn’t too dramatic or too wimpy and went with virtually everything.

However, my hair is currently probably the longest it’s ever been in my life, and I don’t have any immediate plans to cut it, and lip gloss is sticky. I got tired of picking strands of hair off my lips a hundred times a day, so I started shopping around for a replacement. In the past few years I’ve virtually stopped wearing lipstick. It’s just too heavy, like you’ve got a coat of paint on your lips. So I thought I’d try a lip stain, which is a more natural look I’ve always liked.

Cover Girl Outlast Lip Stain is basically like a felt pen for your lips. It stands up to a whole day of use and really only comes off entirely when I wipe my face down with cold cream at the end of the day. I found it on sale for buy one/get one 1/2 off, so I picked up a couple. And I liked it enough that I went back the next day and bought 2 more. I have it in Everbloom Kiss (a light pink), Teasing Blush (a light brownish pink), Flirty Nude (a light coral), and Cinnamon Smile (a light brown). The other colors are all too dark or bright for me, but that is strictly a personal preference and not an indictment of the colors themselves. If you stress lips over eyes, they’d do.

One drawback is that lip stains do not contain moisturizers like lipsticks or glosses, and if you have a tendency for dry lips, this may present a problem. I almost always wear Burt’s Bees when I am not wearing lip gloss or stain, so mine stay moist enough. You could apply a clear lip balm or gloss over the stain; this will make it moister but will also make it come off easier.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. cammy
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 12:45:33

    I’ve been checking out this lipstain lipstick n I want one so bad….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers

